Dec 31, 2001

Rudin Center Honors Transportation Leaders


Jo Boufford

Jack Rudin joined Lee Sander, co-director of the Rudin Center for Transportation Policy and Management, and The Wagner School Dean Jo Ivey Boufford in honoring the 2002 recipients of the Center’s annual Leadership in Transportation Awards at a January 31st reception held in Greenberg Lounge. The awards recognize the outstanding work of individuals and agencies to advance the quality and efficiency of the region's transportation system. This year's honorees were: Francis Lombardi, Chief Engineer of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, winner of the Public Servant Award; Iris Weinshall [MPA ’87], commissioner of the NYC Department of Transportation, winner of the Public Agency Award; John Kaehny, executive director of Transportation Alternatives, winner of the Civic Leadership Award; and Joseph Hoffman, Senior Vice President of NYC Transit and Arthur Imperatore, Jr., president of NY Waterway, who were given special tributes in honor of their efforts to provide transportation in the aftermath of the September 11th terrorist attack on the World Trade Center.

This year’s ceremony also included a special tribute to the late Lewis Rudin, a long-time member of NYU’s Board of Trustees. The tribute recognized the Rudin family’s continued and generous financial support for NYU, and in particular for the Center’s research and policy work regarding urban transportation issues.

What's new at NYU Wagner?