American Academy of Arts and Sciences Elects NYU Wagner Dean Sherry Glied a 2022 Fellow

Dean Sherry Glied

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) has elected NYU Wagner’s Dean and Professor of Public Service Sherry Glied as a 2022 fellow.

“We are celebrating a depth of achievements in a breadth of areas,” said David Oxtoby, President of the American Academy, speaking of the total; 261 AAAS members elected this year, among them author Sandra Cisneros and actor Glenn Close.

Dean Glied conducts comprehensive, path-breaking research on health policy reform and mental health care policy. Her published works include Chronic Condition: Why Health Reform Fails (Harvard University Press) and Better But Not Well: Mental Health Policy in the U.S. since 1950 (Johns Hopkins University Press), co-authored with Richard Frank.

 “These individuals excel in ways that excite us and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending expertise, and working toward the common good is absolutely essential to realizing a better future,” Oxtoby said.

The complete list of individuals elected in 2022, including 37 International Honorary Members from 16 countries, is available on the AAAS website.

Historically, AAAS members have included: Benjamin Franklin (1781), Alexander Hamilton (1791), Ralph Waldo Emerson (1864), Maria Mitchell (1848), Charles Darwin (1874), Albert Einstein (1924), Robert Frost (1931), Margaret Mead (1948), Milton Friedman (1959), Martin Luther King, Jr. (1966), Antonin Scalia (2003), Judy Woodruff (2012), John Legend (2017), Viet Thanh Nguyen (2018), James Fallows (2019), Joan Baez (2020), and Sanjay Gupta (2021).

Congratulations to Dean Glied and the Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service at New York University!



Areas Of Impact